First knit of the year.

IMG_3517

The past year has been… well, busy. I am well aware I say that quite a lot, but looking back at what I did and didn’t do, it really has been quite a year. I recently decided to make some intentional changes (specifically in my yes-saying) to be sure I am doing more of the things I want to be doing.

So, one of those things I didn’t do last year and want to be intentional about doing this year is knitting/crocheting.

Often my crafting process goes like this:

“Man I could use x. I could make x by doing this and this and this. Oh, and I have this and this and this to make it with. Am I too busy? Probably. Let’s do it anyway.”

So, I wanted a headband, I remembered I had some leftover yarn from my super chunky scarf, and got knitting.

What you need:

  • An idea
  • Yarn
  • 3 knitting needles at least close to the same size.
  • knowledge of knitting….
  • Fleece
  • Embroidery thread or small yarn
  • Embroidery needle

I’m not one for knitting patterns, I can’t read them for the life of me. I know how to knit, purl, and get the cable knit look, so I did all of those things. Basically I knit a row of 10, flipped, then purled a row of 10 so the knit look was always on the outside. I knit/purled 10 rows total, and on the 11th (first) I did the cable stitch. I knit 2, pulled 3 off on a separate needle, knit the next 3, the knit the pulled off 3 in line, and knit 2 more. (If you don’t know how to cable stitch, then I’d recommend going somewhere other than that terrible description to find out, it’s actually fairly simple.) And, I simple did that until it was long enough.

I was a little worried at first because the cabling makes it look a little funny and warped and not flat, as you can see on the left half. I wasn’t sure how the fleece backing would help.

IMG_1644

But, lo and behold, it definitely did! Look how much flatter and straight it is when the fleece is on the back!

IMG_1641

To measure the fleece, I just laid out my knitted headband on the fleece, gave a good estimated measure, and cut from there. It ended up being about perfect.

I used some thin yarn (you can use embroidery floss here too) and an embroidery needle. Just be sure to not send the needle all the way to the outside of your headband unless you want that embroidered look on the outside as well. I just went through the layers of yarn, but not outside the black thread isn’t visible.

I also kept a row of knitting just outside the fleece, so all you saw when I was wearing it was the knit, not the black fleece.

IMG_1645

IMG_1649

Then, put the edges together in some sort of janky fashion. Mine looks a little rough, but it’s the back, so I don’t really care.

IMG_3519

Here is just the big ole scarf that I where once it gets remotely cold because it is so so comfy.

IMG_1671

IMG_1676

And now with matching chunky headband! It’s a bit goofy and 80’s… but who doesn’t love the 80’s?

IMG_1673

IMG_3537

IMG_1684

Leave a Reply

