The past 6 months…

It doesn’t seem like long ago I was posting photos of the fires and looking forward to our summer trip home to Michigan. And now I am once again looking forward to a trip to Michigan, but it is for Christmas. Where on earth did time go? It was a time filled with stories, events, friendships, as well as some hardships. Things continue to be crazy, but in an effort to assure you I am still alive and kicking, here is a very summarized version of what I’ve been up to: Planned and implemented another even bigger clothing swap! It appears it will be a successful bi-annual event that I have  laid on myself to own. I hope to post some more specific tips and tricks in the coming months.

IMG_0460

I had yet another show in November at my favorite place in town, Yobel Market. They even allowed me to sell some of my crafted goods, of which I did many. It was a last minute switch to show in November instead of December, so I didn’t take many great pictures, but you will be seeing some tutorials on these goodies in the months to come. A little late for the christmas gifts for you, but there are many reasons to give gifts between now and next Christmas!

IMG_3619

SO MUCH BAKING. The people want to gather and eat when the whether starts cooling off, and I hate keeping things simple, so how about some apple, brie, and honey crescents? Or maybe a baked apple, squash, cranberry and brown sugar dish?

IMG_6749 IMG_6808

And the following is where a large amount of my time has been spent. I have a great passion for what the store Yobel Market (yobelmarket.com) does. By encouraging fair wages, having personal relationships with suppliers, and supplying business trainings, they are helping people around the world break their bonds in poverty. In areas where a woman’s only hope of survival was the prostitute herself, she is has now learned to sew and is making a living for herself and her children. People living in poverty in northern India thought they were cursed because their businesses always failed, no matter how hard they tried. After getting business training and making local support groups, they have newfound hope and success. Every item sold at Yobel has a beautiful story of hard work, of perseverance, of redemption, of HOPE. And they are simply beautiful products to begin with! I have been wanting to do something meaningful with my photography. I do believe having a cherished family photo is meaningful, but I also have a conviction to help the poor, not just those who can afford to pay me for a photo. So, Yobel had a need, and I had the ability to to fill it, and I have had the joy (seriously, joy, even with the extra  hours of work) of helping expand their online selection and make it easier for people around the country to find and buy these great products that raise awareness and literally save lives around the globe!

web board

birds stroyboard

Kantha Coin Purse

Necklace Storyboard

Other Storyboard

<a href=”http://www.bloglovin.com/blog/4570471/?claim=eck6rrc49n9″>Follow my blog with Bloglovin</a>

Leave a Reply

